I always try to resist striving for perfection. Perfection seems like a noble goal, but all too often it gets in the way of achieving excellence – sometimes achieving anything at all.

Take, for example, this blog which I decided to start writing two years ago. I had an outline sketch of the topics that I wanted to write about, I even wrote my first two blog posts. These posts I tweaked, re-wrote, and tweaked some more until I was happy with both of one. But I never got round to publishing either of them as I didn’t feel that I had got my narrative perfect. I wanted to have a perfect plan for how my blog would develop overtime, how each post could relate to one of my previous ones. I didn’t want to publish something that did not perfectly fit my style, my voice.

At the time I did not consider that a better approach would be to allow my writing to be influenced by my daily experiences. To write about thought topics that I felt strongly about, and so allow my blog to have a more organic feel to it.

perfection

I was too concerned about perfection that I forgot that a skill has to be practiced before any level of proficiency can be reached. Had I been publishing regularly I would have spent the last two years perfecting my voice.

So what was the consequence of my strive for perfection? Well, on the face of it all, very little – only the delayed publication of this blog. The real answer, however, is that I do not know what the consequences are. We can never fully anticipate the consequences of our actions, or lack thereof. In failing to publish my blog I may have closed a door of opportunity.

5 thoughts on “Mastering the art of non-Perfection

  1. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be
    happy. I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you few interesting things or suggestions.

    Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I wish to read even more things about it!

    Like

  2. Thanks for the challenge to get started. It’s good to realise that it’s only by starting moving that we find out where we want to go. And that we can change direction once we’ve started too.

    Keep exploring!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment