I know that I’m running through the streets of Tokyo, but it doesn’t feel like it. At least it’s not the Tokyo I’ve known for most of the last 18 months. I’m in the middle of an 11km run home and I’ve been lucky enough to stumble across what I call a “green route”. These green routes exist in many parts of Tokyo. I first came across one in Shinjuku and they are little oases of tranquillity.

Green Route

These routes are usually tree or bush lined, run between buildings or beside waterways or roads, and are pedestrianised. I call them green routes because that’s their colour on Google Maps! They can make a huge difference to the Tokyo experience, giving:

  • Respite from street noise
  • Respite from the hustle and bustle of people going about their busy lives
  • Shade from the sun
  • Room to move.
    Sometimes the sidewalks are too narrow to pass people easily

So as I said, I’m half way into my run. I’ve spent a lovely afternoon and evening with friends and as I am currently ”family-less” due to the summer exodus I thought I’d run home. The alternative was a combination of walking, trains, and subways. It would not have been a whole lot faster.

My hastily laid plans went a little awry when I stayed there late talking. Who’d have thought that would happen! Anyway feeling a little tired I set off at 10:20pm. My only real concern was that I’d get stitch and be forced to walk a little and sure enough I did.

For the first half of the run I had to rely on GPS and Google maps. I was far enough away from home that there won’t be any familiar landmarks for me to follow. 11 km is a long way in a city.

green route - zoomed in - cropped

Straightaway the map took me off the main streets and down back alleys. This was a great start. After about 3km I came across my first green route. This I ran along with pleasure. All too soon, however, Google wanted me to leave this little oasis and return to the normal roads. After checking the map I found that my green route continued and would eventually join up again later with the “google approved” route. So on it I stayed and I’m glad I did.

The Route
Poor quality, but I was meant to be on a run!
Another Green Route
The sky was a wonderful colour

Lamps lighting the way

It was not until I reached about the 7km point before I saw a landmark that I recognised – Tokyo Tower!

Tokyo Tower
Tokyo Tower here I come!

Eventually the route came to an end and I had to step back into ”real” Tokyo. At this point I could turn the GPS off – its job was done. I kept my phone handy however, to keep taking pictures. I know I was going to run past some of my favourite buildings. I found, when I checked the map when I got home, that the green route extended further than I’d taken it. One day I’ll have to run this route from start to end!

green route - extended - cropped
Green Route running through the centre of the map

Have you ever been surprised by a city? Stumbled across something unexpected (good I hope!)? I’d love hear about it.

Leave a comment