This is my 100th post

Normally this would result in a reflective blog post – reviewing what it had taken to get to this milestone. Quite often this 100th post is very egotistical – focusing on the achievements of the writer or blog in question. Most probably this 100th post would include favourite quotes from some of the previous articles. I know all of this because I have, in fact, already written that 100th post. But instead of using it, I’ve decided to do this celebration a little differently.

So why, if it is written, edited, and uploaded to WordPress are you not reading it right now? Why have I decided to take the time to write another post as my 100th? Well it struck me this evening while I was out for a run that there was another way that I wanted to celebrate my 100th post.

Had it not been for somebody else then I never would have made it to this milestone. And so I believe that this person deserves being celebrated much more than a simple blog milestone.

In fact, were it not for this wonderful lady then my life would be much less rich than it is today. I am talking about my wife Henna, who I have come to realise is the one constant source for all of the goodness that comes into my life.

  • Her constant support made it possible for me to work on my most exciting project ever, back in 2014/2015
  • Her personal sacrifices were required so that we could move to Tokyo and become part of the life of this incredible city
  • It was her who introduced me to the online community “I am a Triangle” that provides support to Expat and Repatriate communities around the world. And it was her again who pointed out that they were looking for writers. Thanks to her encouragement I will be writing for their website after it launches.
  • Through her openness and friendliness she is constantly making new friends and contacts. Through her we quickly built up a friendship circle in this large city.
  • She has helped me chase my dreams, even while she has been busy fulfilling her own
  • She kept believing in me when I’d stopped believing in myself
  • She’s introduced me to people who have become very instrumental in my life, an example being my current coach
  • She has found people for me to share my hobbies with
  • She is encouraging me to do something with my photographs
  • And of course she gave me our two wonderful children

So thank you Henna for all that you have done for me over the last 25 years – I feel privileged to have spent that amount of time with you. Here’s looking forward to the next 25 years.

Our Wedding

 

Leave a comment