One of the difficulties of the enforced lockdown in many countries around the world is the effect on people’s mental health. Being cooped up inside is not good for us. Add to this the anxiety a lot of people are facing: worrying about their health, their jobs, and their loved ones. All this can have a detrimental effect on mental health. So what can we do personally to protect our own mental health?

Last week the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge gave an interview to the BBC. They have long worked to raise awareness of mental health issues, attempting to remove the taboo surrounding this sensitive subject. Right now they want to encourage people in need in the UK to make use of the help available to them. You can find the link to this article at the bottom of my post.

Personally, during this lockdown I’ve had my good days and a few bad ones. Sadly, my family would be able to tell you which those bad ones were.

I’m a runner and I find such solace from the simple act of letting my legs take me on an adventure. I have found many delights all over the world simply by slipping on my running shoes. It’s a great way to explore a city. Running is a large part of my identity.

Running not only takes me places, it also regulates my mood, calming me down and allowing me to handle stressful situations better. On a long run I enter a meditative state. I listen to my breathing, check the lightness of my footfalls, and ensure that I am running tall. For me it is another way for me to strengthen my mind and body connection.

Unfortunately I have not been able to run for well over a month.

Happily, however, there are so many ways in which I have been able to do to protect my mental health. The two most important of these, and ones that everybody can incorporate into their daily lives, are:

  1. Meditation
  2. Functional strength training

Both of these activities have helped me immensely over the years.

I started meditating in my early 20s and have been practicing it on and off for the last 20 years. I find that a calm mind is one that is better equipped to handle stress. The calmness created by meditation gives me the mental space to think more clearly about problems – often allowing me to come up with innovative solutions. Performing meditation daily gives both my mind and my body a “reset”.

A strong body helps strengthen the mind. A strong body is better able to handle the stresses and strains of everyday life. When my children where much younger, before I started running and functional strength training, they used to exhaust me so much that I was finished by the time I put them to bed. Within 6 months of starting my health routine I had enough energy to face any challenges my children, or my work, threw at me.

The functional strength training regime that I follow is one that can be done by anybody at home. It does not need any weight training equipment. I need only my body and household furniture. During this lockdown period that has become a real lifeline.

From my personal experience there appears to be a very simple energy equation:

“the more energy I burn exercising each week, the more energy I have for daily life”

On top of meditation and strength training there are other things that I am doing:

  • Finding ways to maintain a sense of humour
  • Using my self knowledge to do those activities that give me energy – for me that is listening to music
  • Using my down time for creative relaxation
    (Link included below to previous post on subject)
  • Developing a sense of community with friends, family, and neighbours

Mental health is something that we all need to protect. It deserves our time to strengthen it, more during this lockdown than ever.

Please let me know if you have found other ways of protecting your mental health.


Here are the links that I mentioned in my post:

Leave a comment